Rebecca Watson

Curiosity, Aroused: The Pilot

In Shows on December 16, 2007 at 2:09 pm

Click Here to Listen

Highlights:
Gas station ghosts, lipstick-eating children, chimpanzees hurling poo, dogs sending telegraphs, psychic hands, and bodonkadonk.

Segments of Particular Interest:
A Slightly More Skeptical Analysis of the News: Lead in Lipstick?
Urban Legends: The Curse of Superman!
Quirkology
Rebecca Visits a Psychic Faire

Special Guests Who Make Special Appearances:
Stacy Malkan, Author and Activist
Jim Aidala, Toxic Substance Expert
Richard Saunders, Australian Mystery Investigator
Richard Wiseman, Quirkologist
Richard and Peggy Watson, Parents

Music You May Notice and Enjoy:
Alpha Beta Gaga by Air
Walking in the Snow with Russians by Ice Core Scientist
Dark Eyes by Devotchka
Pink Batman by Don Deacon
Saturday by Electrelane
Pale Blue Dot by Ice Core Scientist
How We’d Look on Paper by The Main Drag
Sleeper Agent (Just Waking Up) by Hallelujah the Hills

Download the Playlist from iTunes

Thanks Go To:
Richard Paul, Producer
Mike Wilkins, Engineer
John Huntington, Sound Editor
Public Radio Exchange, Contest Holders
Corporation for Public Broadcasting, Money Givers

Coming Soon
A Moment of Science for Mr. Wizard YouTube Challenge! In the meantime, click here to go enjoy the results of our previous Moment of Science.

  1. I enjoyed this episode very much. If you are looking for future topic ideas or interviews, I’d love to see you do something with George Hrab. He’s a musician, and his songs deal a lot with critical thinking and science. Very smart, funny guy. Also, he’s not a Richard (don’t know if that’s a plus or a minus).

    I had an odd experience with a psychic once. She was a tarot reader. I was head over heels for this guy I was dating, and, (you’ll never guess), I wanted to know if we had a future. Instead of her being all sunshine and smiles with me, she said, “well, why don’t you just enjoy the moment and not worry about the future.” Of course, I was in high school at the time, so perhaps her reserved demeanor had something to do with my age, but looking back on it, I appreciate that she was trying to pass on some motherly advice, even if in the guise of spirit wisdom.

  2. Great show! I think your grandpa was telling the world’s funniest joke to the psychic lady. She was not amused, but I was.

  3. Just listened to the pilot. (Heard about it thanks to the notification you gave on the latest podcast of The Skeptics’ Guide To The Universe, if you’re curious.)

    I thought it was quite good. If I had clout with the CPB, I’d sign you up immediately. Since I don’t, I’ll just wish you good luck.

  4. This is pretty much the best show on the entire internet. Congrats on WNYC too, that’s huge.

  5. Thanks everyone, so glad you’ve enjoyed it! George Hrab, gobleugirl, would most certainly be a future guest, I adore him.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

